“Commander” Shepherd Pie, Road Trip and Archery

Soo it’s been a week! Sorry about that I’ve been busy with stuff and then took a massive road trip from Louisiana to West Virginia to visit my parents for a while this month, but that means awesome recipes coming to you from my moms kitchen every single monday of September!

So far I’ve had a blast since I got home. I’ve picked back up a bow and am getting into Archery again. I haven’t shot a bow since 5th grade so this is a nice change. I actually picked it back up rather quickly and had some great groups of arrows. Incase you are curious I’m shooting a compound bow not a recurve. Getting myself ready to move up to a Matthew’s bow while I’m home as well. Also I’m shooting a compound not a recurve because well recurves scare me since I’ve always shot compounds.

This week we made Shepherd’s pie which I’ve dubbed Commander Shepherd pie because well a friend decided to call it that. Thought it was a cute name for this recipe.  So some photos and recipe to follow. Also note this is a recipe my Mom uses all the time and I love it. It’s got tons of childhood memories tied to it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Onion (use a larger one if upsizing the recipe to 2lbs of meat)
  • 1-2 lbs ground beef or venison
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 3 whole carrots
  • 1 cup frozen Peas
  • 1 cup frozen Corn
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon Worchestire sauce
  • 3 tablespoons Flour
  • 2 cups Beef Broth
  • 1 tablespoon dried crushed rosemary

Directions for filling

  • Chop onions, celery and carrots
  • Heat pan with oil medium-high
  • Add chopped onions and meat
  • Salt and pepper meat
  • Add minced garlic (can use a microplane to mince directly into pot)
  • Continue breaking the meat up into smaller chunks as it cooks
  • Brown meat all the way through
  • Add celery and carrots
  • Add flour to meat and veggies stir together until flour is mixed in (should not be visible)
  • Add 2 cups of beef broth and stir
  • Turn down to low and simmer; stir occasionally (usually simmer while boiling other potatoes)
  • Keep cooking until carrots are soft
  • Add peas and corn
  • Add rosemary
  • Meat mixture should be cooked down and thickened
  • Put filling into 8 x 11 ½  x 2 in or 2 QT pan

Note: if you use really fatty beef drain the meat before adding veggies. Also can add or remove any veggies you want like a mixed veggies.

Ingredients for topping:

  • 2 ½ lbs of potatoes
  • 4 tablespoons Butter (half a stick)
  • ½  cup Milk (sometimes you will need to add more)
  • Salt – if you aren’t using salted butter
  • Pepper

Directions for topping (mashed potatoes):

  • Peel potatoes
  • Salt the water
  • Boil the potatoes until soft (should fall off fork)
  • Drain water then put potatoes back in pot for mashing
  • Add milk and butter
  • Mash potatoes until smooth; if not becoming smooth or too dry add milk slowly
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Top the pan with mashed potatoes and run fork over the top of the potatoes
  • Put in oven at 375 for 30 minutes or until top of mashed potatoes are browned

Note: If feeling lazy can use box potato mix, but come on use the real stuff it’s delicious!

Before putting it in the oven to brown

Enjoy the recipe! Let me know if you make this and what you think of it. It’s a great fall trea

t. I’ve got a new folder on google docs as well featuring a ton of recipes I’m typing up this week. You can find that right here.

If you have questions about any recipe stuff please please tweet me or comment and I’ll happily answer them.

-Gummi

Leave a Reply

