Trashy Tuesday: A Trip Through Wonderland

I’m an Alice in Wonderland fanatic, having read the original books multiple times so of course the comic adaption intrigued me. This is my first time reading a Zenescope Grimm Fairy Tales comic and must say that after I got over the insane boobs on the charactersI really enjoyed this book.

Since this is a comic I’m going to talk about the art first. It’s pretty eye catching and colorful. Just as you would imagine Wonderland to be. The character design is creepy for most of the ‘scary’ characters and pretty sexy for the ladies. I think many women who read comics may be slightly off put by the boobage on these, but I found myself getting over it pretty quickly because of how good the story is.  I quickly fell in love with the art for this book.

The plot is our typical Alice In Wonderland with many curveballs and creative changes to the story including character backgrounds. I think this is extremely well done and still pays credit where it’s due from the original. I think it’s a wonderful thing to be able to take such a classic story and make it even more horrific and interesting. They really worked the creepier elements and had a great adaption of the jaberwocky and Mad Hatter. Holy crap did this version of the Mad Hatter creep me out too!  I think that it  takes a lot of talent to stick to a classic story’s basics while adding your own twist and they have really managed to do that with these comics.

Overall I think this book is a great buy for anybody who already likes Zenescope comics and a newbie. A great value for 6 comics in one trade. After reading this I am way more interested in picking up other Zenescope Grimm Fairy Tale books. Worth the cash and I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

To buy the comic visit here.

-Gummi

Leave a Reply

