Trashy Thursday: Touch Of Power by Maria V Snyder

Before Touch of Power I had never heard of Maria V Snyder and after reading it I can say I’m already a fan and can’t wait to dive into her other books. Touch of Power was a fast paced and enthralling book.

We start by meeting Avry who has been on the run for 3 years as one of the last remaining healers. The healers were blamed for the plague forcing them all into hiding though most didn’t even make it that far before people started killing them. The world around Avry has been slowly destroyed by the plague, but soon she is kidnapped by a group of guys trying to help their Prince who is stuck in stasis and dying of the plague.

Before I am tempted tell you the entire plot line I’m going to share what I loved about this book. When I say it was fast paced i literally mean it seemed like something new was happening every couple pages. It felt as though there was never a spot of “well this boring, but it gets me to the next good part.” The world building was built into the story telling really nicely as well as far as explaining the magic and what happened to the world goes. I will say that the romance in this is rather light and this book revolves mostly around world building and creating the plot for the next book. Don’t take that as a bad thing though because the narrative in this book is great and really well done.

Overall 4/5 Stars. I really think this is a great book for anyone who wants to read an engaging story. Definitely well worth the cash.

Leave a Reply

