Trashy Thursday: Love Unscripted by Tina Reber

cover

This is the hardest review I’ve written to date. I really did not like this book and instead of rambling I’m going to give you a list of why I was unhappy with it after sharing the couple of things I did like.

Love Unscripted revolves around an independent business owner Taryn who has an unexpected run in with a very famous movie star Ryan. It’s about them falling in love and dealing with his crazy fans. That’s about the best summary I can give because the plot was all over the place in this book.

The good is that the first 25% and the last 5-10% of the book was amazing and if the whole book encompassed that I would have loved it. The story was a bit different than what I normally read, but it wasn’t a brand new take either.

Now for my issues with the book.

  1. The dialogue was ridiculous. A lot of the lines were just not realistic things people would say to each other. It left me going “what the fuck” constantly because I don’t know a single person who would say things like this to their significant other.
  2. I wanted to slap Taryn multiple times throughout the book. She was great and then utterly annoying. It felt like she only had two states of emotions – happy (with Ryan) and then in a panic/freaking out/being dumb state when he was away or she thought he was cheating.
  3. Too many plots. I can literally tell you there were about 4 different plots throughout the book it felt like. One major event would end and another crazy train would start.
  4. The amount of demeaning stuff Taryn would say to his fans. I’m not somebody who has ever been a crazy fan or known what it’s like to be chased by paparrazi but I feel like celebrities have a bit of a thankfulness to their fans because obviously it’s why they are famous.
  5. Go read the other reviews it will make you understand my dislike.

So I regret to say that this book is total trash for me. I really can’t recommend it to anyone. I gave it 1/5 stars and am just happy to be done reading it.

Leave a Reply

