Trashy Thursday: S.E.C.R.E.T. by L. Marie Adeline

A group of women aged 30-80 or something like that gather in a mansion where they help other women rediscover their sexuality with some drop dead HOT men! Sounds awesome right? The cherry on top was that this took place in New Orleans, LA and that for me is awesome. I was able to easily imagine what all the buildings looked like and the locations.

We join Cassie at 35 having not had sex for 5 years and a widow working at a cafe. She came out of a terrible marriage of abuse that has left her feeling drab and worthless expressed by her plain clothes and just lack of life. Cassie finds a journal that was left behind by one patron she often admires. Total shocker the book is full of naughty stories and the customers experience. Cue S.E.C.R.E.T. becoming a part of Cassie’s life and yes we know it’s corny that the group was named secret, but in the end it was okay.

The things I liked? Oh boy this book was hot. I really enjoyed it and every step Cassie took on the path of S.E.C.R.E.T. was pretty amazing. Cassie becomes a great character by the end and we see a lot of growth in her as a person. I loved how the book focused on Cassie finding herself again in not only a sexual way but also as a person. The scenes in the book are incredibly sexy as well.

The things I didn’t like is a short list. I hated that Cassie’s age kept being shoved in our face. I felt it wasn’t that important of a fact. I also didn’t like that the ten steps took a year, but I suppose rediscovering yourself sexually from a position like Cassie was previously in would take a while. The end sucked I mean it was terrible at the time I didn’t know there was a second book coming so I was livid. I wanted to throw my e-reader across the room and pitch a fit. So remember the ending sucks, but we get book 2 sometime soon.

Overall 4/5 stars. I enjoyed this book a lot. It was refreshing and different. I enjoyed that it was focused on her rediscovering her sexuality not some man running her life.

-Gummi

Leave a Reply

