Trashy Tuesday: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – March Vaginal Fantasy

I love a good young adult novel. Hell a good young adult series and I’m hoping this series will give me that. The first book has left me standing there with my mouth hanging open and pretty much shocked.

The book revolves around Karou an odd girl from a weird place. Though she’s not really aware of where she is from or who she is. She helps a magical creature named Brimstone gather teeth from all around the world by using these weird door ways. She’s also an art student who has blue hair no really it comes out of her head that color which is pretty bad ass. Anyways Karou meets a rather interesting boy named Akiva who is a seraphim.

Now we enter into a lot of typical young adult book tropes with this book, but the plot is so perfectly constructed that I can put that aside. Yes our main character is pretty much perfect and Akiva is the typical drop dead gorgeous guy, but it’s honestly pretty easy to look past especially once you reach the end of the book. Because that ending will leave you with your mouth agape and almost in shock.

Hype that I’ve heard surrounding this book hasn’t disappointed me from what I’ve heard about it. Unlike many young adult books that fall flat for me after hearing all the hype about them Taylor manages to not disappoint. The world created in this book is very unique and it didn’t feel like anything I’ve ever read before.

The book lost points for me though because of how it ended. It was a terribly painful cliffhanger and I really do despise those. I also had to knock a few points off for the fact that it took me a long time to get into this book. Though once it picked up I was beyond hooked.

I give this book 4.5/5 stars and can’t wait to pick up book two. Highly recommend it!

-Gummi

Leave a Reply

