Trashy Thursday: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent is a young adult novel that sets the bar high even with the semi ridiculous set up for this society. At the same time though the seemingly ridiculous set up for the society that would never really work in real life, but somehow works in this book.

The plot starts with Beatrice a girl who is supposed to be selfless according to her faction right before her 16th birthday and the coming day of having to choose which faction she wants to go with.. Her test comes back with 3 options though a rare trait. We follow her journey through training with her new faction Dauntless.

I loved how well written this book is. It echoes a lot of Hunger Games style writing for me. I found myself not wanting to put the book down. Beatrice is a character who is engaging and not a total pushover. I loved watching her transform in a total bad ass. I found myself pretty attached to the characters in this book. I also loved the twists and how they were foreshadowed in a lot of ways.

I found the ending felt a bit rushed though. You spend a lot of time with the dauntless training process which makes sense but when the ending rolls around it seems very quick. It felt like once the end started it took no time at all to be over. This isn’t a fully terrible thing but sometimes I wish it hadn’t felt so rushed and maybe a little less focus on the training and more backstory.

Overall I really enjoyed this book a lot. It’s a great start to a series and I’m actually super excited to start reading book 2 Insurgent soon! Well worth the cash and I give it 4/5 stars.

-Gummi

Leave a Reply

