Trashy Tuesday: Elite (Eagle Elite) by Rachel Van Dyken

I got this book for review and honestly wasn’t really sure if I’d enjoy it or not. The whole new adult/coming of age genre isn’t something I always sway towards but recently have found a couple I like so I keep trying different ones.

Elite by Rachel Van Dyken is a book that from the cover and description seems like something completely different than what it ends up being. The story revolves around Tracey Rooks who just got accepted on an amazing scholarship to the move exclusive college there is outside Chicago. We meet the Elect almost immediately upon her arrival the college and that includes Nixon a controlling bastard or is he really?

The things I loved about this book is the story. It started off as one thing but eventually became about something entirely different that revealed the truth behind it all. Van Dyken does a great job revealing the mystery to the reader with little hints and clues that lead to you realize things aren’t exactly as they seem. Though I will say I wasn’t expecting the final twist on what the truth was.

I didn’t find much to dislike in this book. A few spots I felt were a bit slow but beyond that it was well written and fun to read.

I have to say that I highly recommend Elite and think that it’s a great venture into new adult! Also something completely different from other college based stories I’ve read. Overall 4/5 stars and I can’t wait to read the next book!

Leave a Reply

